View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 11:48am
bobbybanaduck bobbybanaduck is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to bobbybanaduck
the "complete possession" portion of that interpretation is misleading and poorly worded. a better wording woud include something about the impetus of the ball similar to the pitched ball going out of play. i did not see it live, and am only working on the video clip you linked to. it looks like Laz, the 1BU, signals ground rule double by holding up 2 fingers. if both runs were allowed to score, which they did in this case, then i bet there was a conference that changed the ground rule double call to a time of deflection award. basically, what the interp you cited is trying to say is that if a ball is hit down the line and it hits off the players glove and immediately deflects into the stands, it will be penalized as a time of pitch award. in this case, it appears that because the ball was juggled/bobbled so many times they changed it to a time of deflection award because the ball did not immediately go out of play due to the original deflection.

what is confusing me about it is how the b/r ended up at 2B. if they ruled it a ground rule double, then only 1 run should have scored, and the answer to the title of this thread would be, "looks like it." if they didn't rule it a g/r double, then they must have judged that R1 was past 2B at the time of deflection and the b/r was not past 1B at the time of deflection, which would mean score, score, second. unfortunately i do not know any of the guys on the crew well enough to ask them about it, so we will have to continue to speculate.

edited because the first draft was hard to read and i have more time now to work on it.
__________________
"To dee chowers!!"

Last edited by bobbybanaduck; Tue May 13, 2008 at 02:42pm.
Reply With Quote