I understand that many of you are basing this on the interpretation that a runner has obtained a base (and if forced, force removed) when a runner passes a base whether touching it or not.
However, is this a NF interpretation and if so, where can I find it?
Also, nobody has addressed the ruling in 8.2.2E. It clearly states that a runner returning to touch a missed base needs to be tagged UNLESS it is a force, then the base only need be tagged. That implies that a runner missing a forced base does NOT remove the force.
Using this ruling I get this:
R1 on first, batter hit a grounder to third, R1 is stealing on the pitch and the play is at second. R1 beats the throw and slides into second and misses the bag and passes it. R1 is diving back when the second baseman with the ball steps on second.
By the case ruling the runner is out without a tag. Am I reading that wrong????
Last edited by Illini_Ref; Tue May 13, 2008 at 07:54am.
|