Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
That sounds wonderful, but there is no rule basis for those comments.
|
Say what?
POE # 2B in THIS year's(2008-09) NFHS rule book states
"Regardless of where it happens on the floor, when a player places both hands on a player, it is a foul."
On page 22 of the NCAA rulebook, under the Womens guidelines for Illegal Contact, it states
"A foul shall be called when defender contacts the ball handler/dribbler ANYTIME with two hands."
In Appendix III, Section 7 of the NCAA rulebook, the Mens guidelines state
"When a defensive player puts two hands on an opponent, it is a personal foul."
All of those statements came
verbatim directly out of the respective rule books. Whatinthehell could be any plainer...and clearer...than that? They tell officials exactly how the NCAA Mens and Womens Rules Committees, and the NFHS Rules Committee, want the play called.
Saying that there is no rules basis for something that is clearly stated
IN the
RULE BOOK is just patently ridiculous imo.