View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 10, 2008, 11:46am
Steve M Steve M is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleflan
My first question comes from a game I umped two days ago. I had a 10U game, ASA. When the batter hit the ball, it basically went directly up and then to the left a little bit, hitting the batter's right leg, which was still in the box. However, most of the rest of her body was out of the box, as she was running to 1B. I ruled a foul ball since the ball hit the leg while it was still in the box. No one argued this call, but I was just wondering if this was the right call.

Second question comes from the rule book. Rule 8 section G. I'm wondering how you all define an overthrow vs losing possession. Isn't an overthrow essentially a fielder losing possession of the ball (i.e. throwing the ball) that then goes into dead ball territory? Or is voluntarily releasing the ball not technically considered losing possession?

I only ask this because ASA says that in the case of an overthrow, runners are awarded two bases; when a fielder loses possession, runners are awarded one base. Just some food for thought.
Kyle,
On your first question - yes the batter is still in the box (had to be since the ball was still in the box, right)

For your second question, think about this. In order to lose possession, the fielder must have had possession. If your fielder never fully caught the ball, that's an overthrow. If your fielder caught the ball and lost it while attempting a tag or while removing it from the glove or something else along those lines, that fielder lost possession.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote