Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
Why do the three codes have such differing penalties for the same thing?
|
I have had the privilege to have spent many quality hours of rules discussions with some of the major movers and shakers; starting with Merle and Henry, and others who have attended the rules meetings of the other major softball organizations. Even so, the following is my opinion and/or understanding based on those conversations. I will immediately state that no one should consider the following a statement of given facts.
As other posters are fond of stating, the ASA rulebook preceded the others. Many of ASA's rules have been written over time in reaction to what coaches or players have done or tried to do during ASA tournaments. Additionally, ASA rules are generally intended to be universal, covering youth to seniors, male, female, and coed, fastpitch, slowpitch, and modified pitch.
I believe the ASA rule was written to cover and penalize what was perceived as intentional acts to deceive the opposition, and possibly the umpires, too; making substitutions, but not reporting them, so that the players could be re-used. So, the steepest penalty is ASA's; disqualify the sub. And, if they wait until the end of the at-bat, also treat similar to batting out order; declare the batter out, keep other outs. After all, not only did the coach fail to report the sub, the
SUB failed to report the sub. But, since many adult teams don't have dedicated coaches, the coach is not affected, just the player.
NFHS wrote their own rulebook next. In this, as well as similar categories, NFHS wanted to allow for unintentional mistakes, as the players are all youths, and the coaches are often less informed than coaches participating in ASA Championships, may have fewer assistants to help, etc. So, they set a warning in place for the first offense; if it happens again, it is then less an accident, and the more severe penalty applies, restricting the sub. Further, since NFHS does hold coaches accountable for their team, the coach is retricted, too.
Last, the NCAA rulebook. Professional coaches, young adult players, and the concept that even clerical errors must have a penalty, but, my goodness, no coach would ever INTENTIONALLY deceive an opponent or the umpires, would they?

So, outs are recorded for unreported subs, or wearing the wrong jersey number, but no player or (heaven forbid) coach is ever taken out of the game for the transgression.
Again, no written or confirmable information available, but this is what I have gleaned from conversations about rules and philosophies of the organizations.