Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
I'm surprised that the protest was allowed, as it's the umpire's judgment as to whether or not the bat would have passed the test.
|
If I understand what Mike said, it was protested on the grounds of misinterpretation of the rule. In ASA, there is no rule that says no stamp = not allowed. In ASA, no stamp = umpire judgment.
Basically, if the umpire had said, "this bat has no stamp, and in my judgment, would not pass the test" he would have been fine, but since he apparently said, "this bat has no stamp and is therefore illegal" the protest was upheld.
But, I'm kinda just guessing... Mike was there, not me.