| 
				
				Announces
			 
 
			
			The way my partner bailed me out on this one is that I never said anything during the play.  I simply pointed into foul territory.  I read 5-1-1-h and it says the ball is dead when an umpire "inadvertently announces 'Foul' on a ball that touches the ground;"  He said that since the players didn't hear a foul ball call, they should have continued playing.  The coach said (and I agree with him) that his F7 saw the signal and declined to throw home and attempt to retire R2.  I know I have screwed this one up, but I just don't know how I could have fixed it.  His point was that if I inadvertently signaled out without verbalizing the call and then his runner left the base and was tagged, I would correct the situtation and put him back on base.
		 |