View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 08, 2008, 07:24am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM)
MTD,

I would want to see it before saying anything definitive, but I would likely throw both hands in the air and call this "FOUL!" (followed by a downward point in the direction of the appropriate batter's box with my left hand).

Interpretations at all levels agree that if a "so far" fair batted ball hits the bat a second time while the batter is still is holding the bat AND "in the box", it is a foul ball.

However, I have read differing interpretations on what it means to be "in the box" or not.

I like the one that says if the batter has not "landed" his lead foot (entirely) outside of the box AND has not "lifted" his trail foot from the ground, he is still "in the box".

That is how I would rule, so, as described, I've got foul in your sitch. I'd still want to see it though.

YMMV.

JM
8.4.1B is the same (at least generally) as the OP, and contains the FED definition of "outside the box" as it relates to this play.
Reply With Quote