MTD,
I would want to see it before saying anything definitive, but I would likely throw both hands in the air and call this "FOUL!" (followed by a downward point in the direction of the appropriate batter's box with my left hand).
Interpretations at all levels agree that if a "so far" fair batted ball hits the bat a second time while the batter is still is holding the bat AND "in the box", it is a foul ball.
However, I have read differing interpretations on what it means to be "in the box" or not.
I like the one that says if the batter has not "landed" his lead foot (entirely) outside of the box AND has not "lifted" his trail foot from the ground, he is still "in the box".
That is how I would rule, so, as described, I've got foul in your sitch. I'd still want to see it though.
YMMV.
JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
|