View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 07, 2008, 08:19am
Skahtboi Skahtboi is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryBarrentine
ASA Rec. Ball

Call #1
Bases loaded, 2 outs. Batter hits slow roller toward F4, R3 is moveing on contact. F4 fields and tags R1, but not before R3 crosses the plate. Run scores, with 3rd out on tag. Coach and fans want run take off, because R1 was force to run, I stated it was a timing play since F4 choose to tag R1 instead of 2nd Base.

Call #2
Bases Empty, no outs. Batter hits high pop up on 3rd base side, F5 settles under it, straddling the foul line. The tips off F5's glove and drops into foul territory. Foul Ball. Coach wanted fair ball call since F5 had one foot in fair territory, I stated that in my judgement the ball was in foul territory when F5 touched it.

Did I get it right or blow it?

GaryB
R1 was a force as long as the tag occurred prior to her having attained 2nd, which I am assuming it did. Therefore, no runs can count.

Fair or foul has nothing to do with where the fielder is, nor where it drops after having been touched. You are correct in your ruling that it only matters where it was first touched. If, in your judgement that was in foul territory, then it would be a foul.

You will frequently find that coaches think it matters where the fielder is standing, sometimes in higher levels of ball. I believe there was a thread recently where we were discussing just that.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote