View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 07, 2008, 08:18am
NCASAUmp NCASAUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
First, a general foreword...

When talking about runners on bases, use R1 as the lead runner, R2 as the runner behind him/her, etc. Think of it this way... In what order did they bat? R1 batted first, R2 batted second...

Call #1 - Yeah, I think you blew that one. R3 (the runner from 1B), was forced to advance as a result of the batter becoming a batter-runner. On a force play, the defense has the option of tagging the base or the runner. (Rules Supplement #21) If the third out is the result of a force play, no runs score. (ASA 5-B-1)

Call #2 - Nope, you were dead right on that one. On a fly ball to the outfield, it's where it lands if not touched. If it's touched before reaching the ground, it's where it's touched. Since it was touched by the fielder over foul territory before hitting the ground, it's a foul ball.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote