View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 07, 2008, 07:06am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gmoore
Does the reference say to apply the call to Fed or are you assuming that that is the intent?

For the NFHS umpires it does not tell us to apply NCAA ruling to a Fed Game
and I am not being stubborn or not willing to apply the interp. that way... but for the "elders" here please explain "C" to me please

"c. any runner may advance when awarded a base(s) for an act which occurred before the ball became dead provided any base in (b) above is retouched and all bases are touched in their proper order(8-1-2,8-2-1,8-3,8-3-3d, note)"
In FED, if the runner is on or beyond the "next base" when the ball is declared dead, it's too late to go back and correct the error (missed base, or base left too soon). There's an exception for a ball intentionally carried or thrown out of play (intentionally done just to prevent the runner from returning).

So, in the OP, if the ball becomes dead at the end of the play (and it neend't become dead, but it might become dead) with BR standing on second, it's too late for BR to retouch first.

Given umpjong's clarification (BR passed first and *could have* touched it, but didn't), then the obstruction didn't *cause* the missed base, so BR is out on the appeal.
Reply With Quote