| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Fair foul question
			 
			 
			
		
		
		
			
			Here is a comment regarding fair and foul balls from the OBR rulebook.  
 
Rule 2.00 (Fair Ball) Comment: If a fly ball lands in the infield between home and first base, or 
home and third base, and then bounces to foul territory without touching a player or umpire and before 
passing first or third base, it is a foul ball; or if the ball settles on foul territory or is touched by a player 
on foul territory, it is a foul ball. If a fly ball lands on or beyond first or third base and then bounces to 
foul territory, it is a fair hit. 
 
 
Here is my question. When a fly ball lands between the mound and second base and then bounces untouched to foul territory between home and first. is the area behind the mound considered beyond first base? I always thought the answer was yes but a fellow ump disagrees. If the answer is no, how far does the ball have to fall to be considered beyond first or third base?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |