Quote:
Originally Posted by DJM
R1 on second, R2 on first, no outs. Batter bunts, ball hits ground and bounces up and hits batter's front leg while back foot in the box and ball rolls in front of plate. Dead ball/Foul ball is called by PU. 3rd base coach calls time and tells PU the ball never touched the batter can you ask for help from your BU who is in C position. Should PU ask for help since he already called a dead ball. What if BU says he is certain the ball did not touch the batter?
|
I'm sure you meant to say the 3B coach
requests time even though it was already a dead ball situation.
This just happened the other night in OKC in the game between USA & OU. Cannot remember the batter, may have been Mendoza, laid down a nice bunt on the 3B side and beat it out. Umpire calls her back to the box. I can only assume she believed the ball hit the batter (it did not) and killed the play. Candrea (3B coach) didn't take long to ask the PU to go for help. PU simply stated "I cannot do that".