I still haven't found the rule regarding a defensive player whose head rolls across a base on a force out if the body is still in possession of the ball.
If you have the latest YSISF case book, see Case Play CCLXVII, Section III. This was never an issue until recently, because it has virtually always been a member of the offensive team (a runner or coach) who was responsible for the separation of the defensive player's head from his body. In those cases, the call is simply interference and, if the umpire believes the violation was with intent to break up a double play, the runner closest to home is also out. However, in a recent heated and emotional game, a defensive player decapitated his own teammate who cut in front of him to field a bases-loaded ground ball. The head rolled across 2B in time, and the defense wanted a force out. The umpires ruled that because the head did not possess the ball, the runner was safe, and the official case play supports that interpretation.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|