quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker:
I just completed the "join eReferee" thing which is very cool, and was reading through some of the topic articles. This one "Block Charge Blarge" is in the archive. It describes a call in which the Center called a block, and the Lead called a charge on the same play. They resolved it by calling it a double foul. I feel puzzled by this. I can see a double foul if one pushed and the other held. Or they both pushed or they both held or something. But I thought -- now, remember, here, I'm a newbie -- that a block automatically meant not a charge and vice versa. I'm not criticising this decision, but can someone please explain it to me?
Double fouls don't have to be of the same "type". FOr example, a double foul in the post (where most happen, IMHO), could be the offense pushing in for position, while the defense holds the player.
In the specific example you asked about, you could have the defender being late to take a legal guarding position, while the offense was clearing out with the off arm to get this "blarge".