Quote:
Originally Posted by grogdog
Thanks for the replies. By a foot I mean the normal position of the toes on a rubber in the Windup position versus where this player was standing in the windup position in front of the rubber. So now he's in front of the rubber facing a batter in the windup with his toes pointing towards the batter and his heels NOT touching any part of the rubber. All other pitchers started on the rubber then moved the foot in to the customary hole. I agree it's a HTBT but I've never seen it before and I've seen mounds that have a crater in front of the rubber.
|
If the heels were touching the front of the rubber, then the position was legal (by rule). If the heels would have been touching the rubber, but for the "normal hole in front of the rubber" then the position is likely to be ruled legal (in practice). Especially if F1 moves to properly touch the rubber during delivery, it's a nit I'm not going to pick during a game -- F1 has gained no advantage in this (not that advantage is the only reason to enforce all rules).