I agree you have to make a judgement call, and that can't be protested! If you feel it interfered with the players chance to make a play on the ball, not with her being closer to making a play, but actually with her making a play on that ball....then you have INT, now as you stated in your opinion she would have been 1-2 strides from the ball had there been no R2....with this information you have nothing, again a split second decision based on a number of things that you had to be there to see (F6's abilities, her position at TOP, how quick she took off once hit, distance to ball, etc.) Could have gone either way based on the above I mentioned, but from your description (1-2 strides away) it sounds like you got it right to me!
And as Dholloway mentioned you do have a chance at OBS once that fielder is not protected due to fielding a batted ball, so be watching out for that too!!
|