View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 13, 2008, 11:26pm
Welpe Welpe is offline
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalblue1
You judgment and rule interpretation are faulty and have no basis in the rules.

Play #1 we have batter-runner protected to 2B (At most) on the obstruction. As he reached the protected base safely the obstruction is ignored. If protected to 1B he may attempt to advance as his own risk. either way the obstruction is nullified

No fault of the defense that R2 failed to advance. Batter-runner is out on the tag & R2 remains at 2B.
However BR hasn't legally aquired 2B since R2 is already occupying it. If you protect BR to 2B, he hasn't aquired it so he would be awarded 2B, wouldn't he?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote