Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L
1. Since R2 is not forced to advance, he is entitled to second base, and BR would not have gotten to second. My judgment almost certainly would be that absent the obstruction, BR would have noticed R2 still at second and would have successfully retreated to first. Since it's Type B obstruction, BR is not entitled to at least one base, which would have forced R2 to third. So BR is now R1 and R2 is still R2, no outs, let's play.
2. Unless the obstruction somehow enabled F2 to make the play at third (I dunno, didn't waste any time trying to tag R1 since he was going to be protected home anyway?), I have BR out at third. Type B obstruction is delayed dead ball, and the "penalty" is nullifying the obstruction.
|
You judgment and rule interpretation are faulty and have no basis in the rules.
Play #1 we have batter-runner protected to 2B (At most) on the obstruction. As he reached the protected base safely the obstruction is ignored. If protected to 1B he may attempt to advance as his own risk. either way the obstruction is nullified
No fault of the defense that R2 failed to advance. Batter-runner is out on the tag & R2 remains at 2B.
Play #2 the obstructed runner (R1) reached his protected base. Plkay continues without reference to the obstruction, batter-runner out at 3B.