View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 08:37pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
This issue intrigues me as it raises the question: "Are you going to call the book literally? Or by the spirit of the law?"

R1 coming home, F2 blocks the plate, R1 slides wide, PU's arm out and says "obstruction," R1 misses plate, F2 receives ball.

Sit 1: F2 dives and tags R1; PU calls dead ball, awards R1 home on obstruction.

Sit 2: F2 looks at PU and says, "she missed the plate," then tags R1. PU honors the appeal (which is an exception to the obstruction rules), and calls R1 out.

Can anyone find a rule that supports allowing a runner free access to return to touch a base missed due to obstruction, before honoring a missed base appeal?


WMB
In sit 2, if R1 is heading toward the dugout, I'd honor the appeal. If R1 is attempting to get back to the plate, this is still part of the effect of the obstruction, and I would not honor the live ball appeal. I don't have sound rules basis for that last one, but it seems right.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote