[QUOTE]
Originally posted by bob jenkins
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by devdog69
Just want to run a few of these by all of you before I go diggin in the rule book. Fyi, if it matters, the level of ball was 11-12th grade girls.
1. A1 shoots and makes basket and is fouled. Some dummy administering free throw who has done 19 games already during the weekend tells the players "two shots ladies". A1 misses free throws and everyone just stands there, except A2 who rebounds and lays it in. I ruled no basket, went to the arrow and got the ball back into play quickly. Right or Wrong?
|
Basket counts for A2. B gets the ball for a throw-in along the end-line. See 2.10.1D
I have let this one stew on my mind for a week or so, and have sought out a few more opinions from camp clinicians over the past weekend. I don't think 2.10.1D applies because in that situation there was no disadvantage caused by the officials mistake, whereas in my original sitch there definitely was. There is nothing really to cover this exact situation, that I can find. The clinicians I asked all, of course, gave the answer that it should not ever happen. I agree, but in my defense my partner and I were on our 9th or 10th game of the day and our concentration was definitely off. Beyond that, they agreed that the only equitable thing to do was wipe the bucket and go to the arrow. I think that this is a case of invoking the rule about the referee ruling on any thing not covered in the book and using common sense to do the right thing. I know it's a very uncommon situation, and I hope it never happens to anyone, especially me, again. But if it does, I think I will use my common sense and handle it this way. Hey, Rut, I think we agree on this one, huh? Common sense coupled with a thorough knowledge of the rules is a common ground we should all strive for, imho.
[Edited by devdog69 on Jul 8th, 2002 at 10:46 AM]