View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 06, 2008, 08:28pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
2. If the ball is at the backstop there is generally no play on R1 going to 2b, and there is no play at the plate, so why would we rule INT on the batter getting hit by a thrown ball from the catcher from the backstop? This throw was not to 2B, it's too low to make it. Sounds like a terrible throw. If we start calling INT on this I can see a lot of batters getting targeted by catchers who have no chance at a play. We would be rewarding the defense for two bad throws, one from the pitcher and one from the catcher.
Reply With Quote