So what exactly did the visiting coach protest?
The only thing he can protest is a misapplication of a rule. What rule did he claim was being protested? Unless you were giving the other coach time for conferences that he wasn't allowed to have (it doesn't sound like you were- or would) there's no rule being misapplied.
Whether or not the conferences or delays were designed to "hasten or lengthen the game" is strictly your judgment. Can't protest that.
The length and validity of any time outs you grant is your judgment. A protest isn't valid.
The field conditions being suitable for continuing is your judgment call, too. No protest allowed there.
Besides that, the coach said that he would protest "if the game was called due to weather or darkness". So he was protesting something that hadn't even happened yet? I wouldn't accept his protest for something that "might" happen a half hour later.
He needs to file the protest at the appropriate time and the protest needs to be for a misapplication of a specific rule, not for a judgment call.
Last edited by BretMan; Thu Mar 27, 2008 at 05:04pm.
|