View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2002, 10:01am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally posted by devdog69
Just want to run a few of these by all of you before I go diggin in the rule book. Fyi, if it matters, the level of ball was 11-12th grade girls.

1. A1 shoots and makes basket and is fouled. Some dummy administering free throw who has done 19 games already during the weekend tells the players "two shots ladies". A1 misses free throws and everyone just stands there, except A2 who rebounds and lays it in. I ruled no basket, went to the arrow and got the ball back into play quickly. Right or Wrong?


Basket counts for A2. B gets the ball for a throw-in along the end-line. See 2.10.1D

Quote:
2. A1 shoots and is fouled by B2 (her fifth foul). Foul is reported and table fails to notify officials of B2's DQ. Just as A1 is releasing her first free throw the table buzzes the horn. What's the call here? Does it matter if she makes or misses the free throw? I wasn't in this game and luckily she made it so it wasn't an issue but it did bring up a discussion.


Not covered by rule. I'd tend to judge that it didn't affect the shot and not award a substitute.

Quote:
3. I was watching this one too. Jump ball to start overtime, teams line up going the wrong direction. A1 taps to A2 who streaks for a layup, misses and one of the officials blow the whistle realizing they are going the wrong way and they rejump. It worked out fine because she had missed the layup but if it would have went in, I'm guessing it would have hit the fan. I know how I would have handled this but would like some of your thoughts.


Officials error. All play counts. Point the teams in the right direction and resume play. See 4.5.4.

THis is a pretty common mistake -- always check for the right direction on the jump ball to start OT.

Reply With Quote