View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 19, 2008, 10:38am
vbzebra vbzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
See rule 6-7-6. Note that exception (a) is not applicable because the try is not in flight when the horn sounded. Sooooooo, in this situation.....foul-->whistle-->horn-->release....you would NOT count the bucket.

Also see case book play 5.6.2SitD.
That's the particular rule/wording I'd been looking for, in 6-7-6 exception c saying "provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight".

So here's the exception saying that in this foul case, the ball must be "released" before horn, even though "act of shooting" motion began before horn ended and release came after horn. Thanks a bunch. Just wanted to find it in rule book. It may never happen to me in a game, but if it does, I want to be able to calmly refer the irate coach of the shooter's team to the rule that says the basket does NOT count (and I'm sure he/she will have a litter of kittens on that particular call) Thanks again!
Reply With Quote