View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2008, 01:11pm
truerookie truerookie is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbzebra
Not trying to sound like a jerk...but could you please point out in the case book and NFHS rulebook (not with me at the current moment, and would like to look it up later) why the basket would NOT count?

Whether it was "foul", "horn", "release" OR "foul", "release", "horn" on the make, wouldn't the foul cancel out the shot clock? She'd be in the act of shooting regardless of whether ANY horn went off, right?

Again, not trying to sound like a smarta#%, just really intrigued by this question. Thanks!

Think of it as a last shot situation.

On your "foul, "horn", "release" the shot will not count due to the horn sounding she did not release the shot before the horn Rule 7-7-5 see exception a & b) although the player started the shooting motion.

On the "foul, "release" "horn" the shot will only count if the shooter release the ball before the horn. In this situation you will allow the shooter to complete the try for goal. See Rule 7-7-5 exception c

I hope this clear it up a little more.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote