Quote:
Originally Posted by socalreff
The case book clearly says that you don't count the basket and give the shooter 2 or 3 shots. -- FED and NCAA
NCAA rules state that you shall go to the monitor on this situation to see if the foul occurred and/or the shot was released before the horn or 0.00 on the clock. And if the foul occurred before the expiration of time, you put the time back on the clock that remained when the foul occurred, not when the whistle blew.
Question is this: By putting time back on the clock, the period never expired and the horn shoudn't have sounded.
Do we then count the basket because of the timing error?
Which rule supercedes the other?
|
Not trying to sound like a jerk...but could you please point out in the case book and NFHS rulebook (not with me at the current moment, and would like to look it up later) why the basket would NOT count?
Whether it was "foul", "horn", "release" OR "foul", "release", "horn" on the make, wouldn't the foul cancel out the shot clock? She'd be in the act of shooting regardless of whether ANY horn went off, right?
Again, not trying to sound like a smarta#%, just really intrigued by this question. Thanks!