View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 14, 2008, 09:32am
Raymond Raymond is online now
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
...I was set up at about 1/2 court right on the line and was L on this inbounds...as the play appraoched me I began to backpedal toward the other end of the court to stay ahead of the play....the play happened in a direct line of sight infront of me but I was straightlined and B2 had is back to me so I was not in position to see A2's hands or the action that occured and what I saw from my POV was the travel and that's what I called and when asked by coach what I gave him...
No contact, no foul...either a travel or held ball.

But why would backpedal away from the play? You were in perfect position to referee that play and instead you moved away from the play and you caused yourself to be straight-lined. It's more important to "referee" a play than "stay ahead" of the play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote