View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 09, 2008, 08:09pm
Oz Referee Oz Referee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
While in FIBA rules you can take a charge when standing directly under the basket, I have been told by several rules intrepeters that this should very rarely be called. The thinking is that if the player has released the ball, and the defender is standing right under the bucket, then there isn't any advantage/disadvantage, therefore no call. To be honest, I'm still unable to make up my mind whether I agree with this interpretation or not.....
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote