Too Far Under Basket for PC
In the regional tournament elimination game last Thursday the local team lost in overtime after a player control foul was called on the player who drove the lane and made the basket. In the local newspaper the coach of the losing team complained that the defender was too far under the basket to draw the Player Control foul. I know there is a "restricted" area under the basket where a PC should not be called at the Pro level but find no such restriction in my NFHS rule book. Assuming legal position was obtained by the defender would you call a PC foul in this situation?
|