Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
					
				 Neva..I agree but thought I would throw this in. Would this change @ all with 5 seconds or less left in the game? Case Play 9.2.11 almost reads like you could call anything that interfered with the thrower, contact or not, a "T." 
 I would think that if I was the opposing coach I would rather it be called a "T" since the throw in would be @ the time line. Intentional foul would be the way to go here since it puts the ball back in play @ the spot of the foul & doesn't give the opposing team an court position advantage to steal. Just thought that there was a little ambiguity in the case play. Any thoughts?
 | 
	
 The issue of the ensuing throw-in has been discussed before.  I know that I posted about a discussion another local official and I had about how a team could push the opponent BACK to the division line by taking a T and that would hurt the offended team.  We proposed that the offended team have the choice of retaining the original throw-in location or going to the division line for the throw-in following the FTs.
BTW I would call an intentional personal foul for this action no matter what time remains in the game.  The only play in which I believe that the official has discretion to go with the T or ignore the offense is with a NONcontact breaking of the boundary plane with under five seconds remaining and the clock running.  That's my understanding of the rules.