View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2008, 05:20pm
SamIAm SamIAm is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm
I saw a play in the KU/Texas Tech game that I thought would be whistle as a travel but wasn't. Here is my description -

Loose ball bouncing toward KU bench, K1 dives, secures the ball and slides.
He went from side to tuchus on the dive, then passed the ball to a teammate.
The bouncing ball was bouncing knee high or so.

I thought K1 secured a ball that wasn't on the floor, then essentially went to the floor and slid (travelled). Had the ball been rolling, I would have agreed with the official (no travel).

Is this mere judgement or am I missing something?
My understanding of this situation is a ball on the floor can be secured via a dive and travel would be excluded until the players momentum stopped. But a ball not on the floor does not allow for sliding/rolling from momentum.

Now that I have the case plays -
A.R. 103.(3) Reads "Gains control of the ball while on the playing court". I presume "on the playing court" is direct at the player. Therefore diving for a bouncing ball and securing in the air would likely be a travel.

Am I correct in my understanding of this sitch. ( I don't care about the play even though TTech might have won if they only got a few calls )



Am I correct?
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)

Last edited by SamIAm; Wed Mar 05, 2008 at 05:36pm.
Reply With Quote