Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
I guess I'm not sure that this case play applies. It was brought to their attention after the game had ended in that situation.
This seems to me to be a different situation, as 6 players are noticed during a dead ball. If you noticed the 6 players after a violation and before beginning the subsequent throw-in, would you not call the technical foul? I'm sure you would, but want a rationale for treating these situations differently.
|
Um, no I wouldn't. You have to notice 6 players participating during a
live ball. They're not violating any rule until the ball becomes live.
If you look at part(a) of that case play, it says that you can penalize the team after the ball becomes dead
if you had knowledge that 6 players were actually participating at the same time. In the original post, it was stated that the officials were
not aware that the team had 6 players participating until after the ball became dead. Without having previous knowledge that 6 players were participating, you can't retroactively penalize that team. That's what part (b) of that case play is telling us.