View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 01, 2008, 08:45am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Debateable.
If the official deems that the player had control of the ball, then it is a violation. Strictly a judgment call.
There's no such animal as a "controlled tap." A tap is an attempt to score a goal. There is no team control during a tap.

Team control begins when the ball is dribbled or held inbounds. If you judge the ball was held, then you simply has a pass that occurs when the ball is batted to the teammate.

Batting a ball without first holding it does NOT establish team control.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote