View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 01, 2008, 06:00am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If the official deems that the player had control of the ball, then it is a violation. Strictly a judgment call.
I get it. If on the opening jump, if A1 taps the ball to a teammate, you're saying that you could call a violation.

Thanks for enlightening me.

I was using the commonly(I thought) understood meaning of a "controlled tap"....i.e. no actual player control but could still be deliberately directed to another player. Usually, the word "pass" is used if there is player control, even though a "pass" can be batted also. I guess you're right.....mileage could vary.

Congratulations on being such a cunning linguist.
Reply With Quote