View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 29, 2008, 06:47pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by inigo montoya
Situation from last night (NFHS, 8th grade boys):
A1 tries for goal, but the shot is no good. A2 leaps straight up in an attempt to rebound or tap it in. He is fouled on the way up, but succeeds in tapping it in. The contact occurs before he makes contact with the ball.

Since a tap does not start until A2 makes contact with the ball, I said this should be a common foul. My partner says "it's a shooting foul, basket is good, A2 will shoot one free throw."
You had it right. It's just a common foul. Was the player in the act of shooting when he was fouled? Nope. You can't be in the act of shooting if you don't have the ball.

Ask your partner if a player was fouled before he caught a pass, then caught the pass and shot, if he'd call that a shooting foul too. There ain't no difference, rules wise.
Reply With Quote