View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 02:23pm
JoeTheRef JoeTheRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by WIRef
I saw this play as it happened, and then several times on the replay. My view was that the ball stayed in the backcourt while both feet went to the front-court, and before he picked up the dribble to make the pass, he moved a foot back into the backcourt. Thus, there was never front-court status. I believe the refs made the right call.
Is this play online somewhere? I was sitting at a sports bar eating my wings when I saw that highlight from a distance, only once. I immediately thought it was a backcourt violation. Me being a Georgia resident and Tech fan, and a DUKE hater, I may have been quick to judge.

With all that said... both feet in the FC, (before??) he picked up dribble to make pass, moved foot back into the BC. When you say before he picked up the dribble was he dribbling or gathered the ball to pass? When the foot went into the BC did he dribble one more time then gather to pass? I'm confused with the before he picked up the dribble to make a pass statement. If I picture it correctly he was picking up the dribble to make the pass, then moved a foot back into the BC, then the dribble ended and it would be a violation because all three points are in the FC.
Reply With Quote