View Single Post
  #71 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 01:59pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Gimlet25id - to save some time, I'm not going to go through all the quotes, but let me address some specifics:

First, we do agree that the TO doesn't happen on the request. I have never stated it does; I have always agreed the TO happens on the granting. It is a two-step process - the coach/player makes the request, the official grants. The question is when does the granting occur? I contend it is when I say/think "Yes, I am granting this TO request". Usually, I blow the whistle and signal for the clock to stop at that moment. In rare instances, the whistle doesn't get blown at the exact moment. The question between us is whether the granting occurs only at the whistle, or at my physically/mentally saying "Yes, granted." The rule only says granted, and there is no direct connection between "granting" and "blowing the whistle", other than you blow the whistle as a signal to the timer to stop the clock, because you are granting a TO request.

I contend there are many instances that allow for the ball to become dead, even though the whistle hasn't blown. I am making that assumption from the various rule and case statements allowing for that. You are saying that granting a TO request isn't specifically listed in 6-7 as a way for the ball to become dead, like it would for a foul or violation. I agree, I am using a slight leap to get to my conclusion. But you are also using a slight leap to get to your conclusion the granting only happens at the whistle.

In the example of the player falling OOB, you didn't answer my question directly about whether you would still allow the TO if you didn't get the whistle blown before the violation. In that case, if for some reason I didn't get the whistle blown, but I knew the request was legal according to 5-8-3, I would still grant the TO. I would sell the heck out of the call, but no one would argue the TO should not happen only because I didn't blow the whistle in time. What if a player bumped into you at that moment, knocking the whistle out of your mouth, and you didn't get back in your mouth in time? Do you not grant the TO? Would it make a difference if it was a teammate of the player requesting TO? How about an opponent? Would you tell Coach A, "Sorry, I can't grant the TO because B1 knocked the whistle out of my mouth, and I couldn't get it blown soon enough."?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)