View Single Post
  #61 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 06:27pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
I think I disagree with a couple of your points.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
Sorry! I read past your post. I don't agree with this. It can't be a T/O until it is actually granted by the official.
First, you are right that the "request" doesn't stop play, the "granting" does. When does that "granting" actually happen? That has been debated in the past, but I contend it's when I mentally grant it, not specifically when the whistle blows. That can be backed by a rule fundamental: The official's whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead, because it is already dead. So, the TO has been granted even though my whistle hasn't blown. In "real-world" plays, most of the time, the TO being granted and the whistle blowing are pretty close to simultaneous. But I'm sure you've seen the play at the end of a close game where one team scores, then try to call TO before the other team gets the ball in play, and the whistle blows as the pass in the air. That's because the official had to verify the request was legal, as per 5-8-3 (team-control, at disposal, or dead ball), and therefore granted the TO even though the whistle might be a moment later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
If the official never blew the whistle to acknowledge the T/O & time expires then there isn't a T/O
There is a case play, 10.1.6, that states an official has knowledge that the team had six players participating, but cannot get the clock stopped. The ruling is a T is called even though the official didn't get the clock stopped in time. The ball became dead with the official's knowledge, not when the whistle blew. Therefore, in this case, the TO was granted, even though the whistle didn't blow in time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
just because the coach is requesting a T/O doesn't mean that we can grant it.
If it's a legal request, per 5-8-3, we're supposed to grant it. If it's not a legal request, then we're supposed to ignore it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
What if HC B team requests a T/O, when they have none left, while the A team has the ball? The officials don't obviously grant the T/O since the B team doesn't have the ball. According to your logic you would still pin the BHC with a "T" just for the request.
No, you don't grant the request because it is not a legal request, as per 5-8-3, not just because they don't have any left to call.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)