View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 05:43pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbioteach
Team A(home team) up by 2 points 1.3 on clock (4th quarter). A has a spot throw in at defensive baseline.

I'm the T and have the throw in. A1 on a football style throw has inbound slightly tipped by B1. I chop in. Clock doesn't start. I start a visable count while ball is in midair headed towards division line. I get to one as B2 catches ball. I come out with multiple whistles waving off any shot as B2 is shooting a half court shot that goes in. Also signal tip after whistle. My whistle is before release.

Did I handle this right?

B coach goes nuts as my partner and I leave the floor.
You were right up until you blew the play dead. The "Can't catch and shoot at .3 or under" rule applies only if the clock is stopped with .3 seconds. Once it's running at more than .3, then the player is allowed to (try to) catch and shoot, even if the catch happens at .3
Reply With Quote