View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 18, 2008, 01:04pm
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
The NFHS has ruled (via email from Mary Struckhoff):

"Well, to me, if space is limited to begin with, and it was not done to
deceive the opponent, then NO, no violation."

Edited to add: However, this doesn't mean that this will be the ruling going forward. Apparently this has created numerous conversations as there is no specific coverage and required an interpretation/ruling from Struckhoff. It will be a discussion topic at the rules committee meeting in April. This could potentially end up as a case play next season. I emailed the coach and he respectfully disagreed that there is limited space on the baseline, but when I notice I have to work differently as the lead, then that means that as far as I'm concerned the space is limited.
Who cares if the "space was limited"? That's not the point. If the NF rules committee decides to make this a violation, their going to have to make it a violation to bounce the ball on the floor OOB from A1 to A2 prior to the inbound pass. They can't have it one way and not the other. (notice I didn't say "call it both ways") OOB is OOB.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote