View Single Post
  #68 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 17, 2008, 04:48pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimlet25id
JR would be correct in his ruling if he determined that there wasn't a mistake. If the "R" in the OP determined or made the conclusion that it was a timing error/mistake then by rule he/she can add time back on the clock.

There nothing in the rules that would state the official in the OP is wrong by adding time back to the clock. Nor does the book instruct us to not add time back to the clock, if the officials make the determination that the timer made a mistake.
Rule 5-6-2EXCEPTION3 states that the official is wrong in the OP to add time back on the clock.

If you think differently, then please point out to me where in the the original post I can read that the timer actually has made ANY kind of timing MISTAKE then, by RULE. Please be explicit. I realize that I'm not as smart as some of the other posters here. For the life of me, I can't seem to find anything written anywhere that says that the timer was slow to stop the clock, or that he actually did anything but stop the clock normally as he had also done on every other whistle during the game.
Reply With Quote