Rich,
You handled it correctly. This is NOT a violation. Only the throw-in pass is subject to the requirement that it must go directly into the court. An OOB pass between teammates outside of the boundary plane may contact OOB. That is true whether the ball strikes the floor OOB or an object (such as a bleacher or chair) or a wall. There is simply no rule which prohibits this.
You already know the relevant rules in the book, so I'll just remind you of the case book play that states it is legal for a thrower to bounce the ball on the OOB area before making a throw-in (9.2.2 Sit D) and ask you to think about what you would do if a player from the nonscoring team grabbed the ball following a made goal, stepped OOB and in frustration bounced the ball off the back wall clearly in a manner that was NOT unsporting and caught it while still OOB. There is no call to be made there, right? One simply continues the five second count. Your play follows the same concept. The ball struck something that is OOB, but it was PRIOR to the throw-in pass, hence there is nothing illegal about the action. The unhappy coach needs to learn the rules better.
The only way that this would be illegal is if the ball caromed into the court off the wall or floor area that is OOB and then it would have to be considered a throw-in pass. That's 9.2.2 Sit A.
|