quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins:
Try this:
A1 picks up his dribble just behind the division line. He bounces a pass to A2. The pass bounces in the front court. A2 either a) has a foot on the division line when he catches the pass, or b) comes from the backcourt and is in the air when he catches the pass.
Bob,
Excellent response to the original post. I've had trouble with thinking of how this part of the rule would realistically come up in a game and haven't been able to come up with one. But the scenario in your first situation is an excellent example of the "note" portion of this rule. All 4 elements of a backcourt violation are present. 1) team possession had been established, 2) the ball had attained front court status, 3) A1 was the last player to touch the ball before it went into backcourt, and 4) A2 was the first player to touch it after it went into backcourt. I'll keep this scenario in mind from now on. Just another example of how helpful these discussion boards can be when you've got so many different points of view to rely on. Thanks!