Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
My view is that this is absolute OBS in NFHS. No longer an initial play, and the runner was clearly impeded by a fielder without the ball. In ASA, I also see obstruction, because the fielder didn't have the ball, and couldn't make an out without impeding the runner first. But, in the ASA ruling, I have to admit it is close enough to consider in live time that the fielder may have had a play, so no call or even INT may be a live time call that is defendable by rule.
|
I think that is a pretty clear case of obstruction (ASA). F1 kicked (literally) the initial attempt at fielding the ball, and the ball went into the path of the BR. F1 made contact with/altered the path of the runner without the ball after said initial deflection.