Thread: Traveling?
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 12:24pm
eg-italy eg-italy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy voyager
There is no FIBA-caseplay for this situation so I have acctually mailed this question on to my mentor to make sure I get it right, but here is what I think
This is a travel based on this rule
25.2.2 Progressing with the ball for a player who has established a pivot foot while having the control of a live ball on the playing court:
▬ To pass or shoot for a field goal, the player may jump off a pivot foot, but neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released from the hand(s).

Since it says to pass or shoot for a field goal jumping with the intent to dribble must be a travel
furthermore, if he has a pivot foot established, then when he jumps he lifts it. And if you have lifted your pivot foot you're not allowed to dribble
So this should be a travel
It's just two lines above:

25.2.2 Progressing with the ball for a player who has established a pivot foot while having the control of a live ball on the playing court:
• While standing with both feet on the floor:
– To start a dribble, the pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released from the hand(s).

Ciao
Reply With Quote