Thread: Traveling?
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 10:34am
crazy voyager crazy voyager is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
There is no FIBA-caseplay for this situation so I have acctually mailed this question on to my mentor to make sure I get it right, but here is what I think
This is a travel based on this rule
25.2.2 Progressing with the ball for a player who has established a pivot foot while having the control of a live ball on the playing court:
▬ To pass or shoot for a field goal, the player may jump off a pivot foot, but neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released from the hand(s).

Since it says to pass or shoot for a field goal jumping with the intent to dribble must be a travel
furthermore, if he has a pivot foot established, then when he jumps he lifts it. And if you have lifted your pivot foot you're not allowed to dribble
So this should be a travel
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote