View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 07, 2008, 10:25am
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
My view is that this is absolute OBS in NFHS. No longer an initial play, and the runner was clearly impeded by a fielder without the ball. In ASA, I also see obstruction, because the fielder didn't have the ball, and couldn't make an out without impeding the runner first. But, in the ASA ruling, I have to admit it is close enough to consider in live time that the fielder may have had a play, so no call or even INT may be a live time call that is defendable by rule.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote