Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				 
					Originally Posted by truerookie
					
				 
				Are you sure of the cited casebook play? 
			
		 | 
	
	
 That case play is germane also. It relates also to a player who has already lifted their pivot foot, same as a player jumping in the air. It states "Traveling would occur only if A1 begins a dribble....".
The other case play is closer to the actual situation described in the original post, but they both use the same criteria(rule).....the pivot foot must be on the floor when a dribble is started.